top of page

Inspiring yourself to be Inspiring!

We've all been there, you find yourself staring at the start of a project. You wanted to create something, or maybe even you have to for your store, but if just feels like nothing will happen.

I find myself hitting a creative block at least monthly. Sometimes I start a project motivated above average, and then a distraction hits, and I no longer want the project as much. Fortunately enough that doesn't make any of us lazy, bad artists, or failures. It makes us HUMAN.

As a creative person, sometimes reminding yourself to take a mental break is hard. However, it is a life or death skill in my opinion. I set an hour (or two) timer. I make some tea, maybe I walk, I may even just nap... but I remind myself art is a passion and a skill I have to nurture just like my own body, and then I do my best to let it go until that timer goes off. Once the timers chirping, I tell myself I have to continue for at least an hour.

After all of that hour passes, if I'm motivated to continue I do.

If I am not, I forgive myself for needing some more time today, and I stop the project until the next morning.

I remain ever-cautious however, that I do truly pick my task, or project back up when I set the goal to do that, or else you start to break down the system and it doesn't work. That's called procrastinating. ;) and its like death to creative minds. Not a total consuming death, but like a warm tar bath, you can crawl out, but it's hard and sticky once you're in, to ever get out, of procrastinating habits. #art #inspiration #rest


23 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page